Mary-Lou Manizer

Today I’m finally going to be posting my first makeup review! Emphasis on the finally. I’ve been really going back and forth on how to combine my love for God and my love for makeup and let me tell you it has been a hard thing to come up with. After some prayer though I think I know how to best share my heart behind the two passions. First of all I do NOT think anyone needs to wear makeup to be pretty. You better believe my favorite days are those with a bare face. However, as someone who works in the beauty industry, I’ve learned from experience that when you can convince someone to see their beauty on the inside, you can convince them to see their true beauty on the inside as well. Someone who trusts you with their face or their hair, will also trust you and let you see their inner beauty. That being said my first makeup tutorial, drum roll please…

Mary-Lou Manizer by the Balm Cosmetics

Now if you keep up even a little bit with makeup you know that the glow is real right now. We are OBSESSED with highlight and I hope it’s a trend that never ever goes away.  

For those of you who aren’t familiar (insert eye roll emoji here), the technique of highlighting is something I’m sure has been around for a long time but now that the Kardashians are doing it, we all are. Typically a highlight is a shimmery, light colored powder or cream that is applied to the cheek bones, forehead, nose, cupids bow, and chin to add shine and cough cough highlight the high points of the face.  

For those who aren’t familiar with the Balm Cosmetics, they are a makeup brand founded in 2004 with the philosophy “beauty in 5 minutes”. After recently discover this makeup line in Armstrong McCall (a beauty supply store) I instantly fell in love.  

Obviously the first thing I saw was their packaging which is to die for. All of the names of their products are super funny with tons of play on words. Such as the Mary-Lou Manizer for their highlight, Meet Matt(e) for their matte eyeshadow pallet,and so on. Their packaging is my favorite part of this company honestly. All of their packaging is 50’s style women and men in true magazine form. Very pin up, very 50’s house wife, very bright, fun, and eclectic.  

Now let’s talk about the important stuff, the product. I’ve always had trouble finding a good powder highlight because my pores are the size of a decent sized pool and therefore most powders settle into my pores and look real gross real fast. But not my dear Mary Lou, this is the one highlight that goes on where I put and stays there. It’s blend-able but does not settle into my pores and never looks cakey. It’s pigmented as I’ll get out and stays very true to color. It’s a build-able product which I love because I can add less highlight to my cheeks and more to my cupids bow and such.  

This product comes in three different shades. Mary Lou is the skin colored highlight, described as champagne and is the lightest shade. Cindy Lou is the middle shade and is rose blush colored highlight.Betty Lou is the darkest shade and is a bronzy highlight which would be great for darker skin tones. 

Let’s talk prices!

I purchased Mary Lou for $12.00 from Armstrong McCall because I have my cosmetologist license. On The Balm Cosmetics website you can purchase each highlighter for $24.00 each or you can purchase the trio for $28.00.  

Obviously the pan size of each highlight is smaller in the trio however I will say the pan sizes of the individuals are HUGE. They also come with a perfect little mirror in the compact which truly makes it a product that is perfect for on the go even if it’s a day that I’m not wearing a highlight.  

I rate this product 9/10 and the only reason I’m not giving it a 10/10 is because it’s not a product I wear daily because of it’s intensity! However price, quality, and quantity considered, get this product as soon as you can! 

You can purchase this product on thebalm.com but sadly Sephore and Ulta do not carry this brand right now!  

Leave a comment