Listening when He talks

Today I’m going to be touching on a subject that I struggle with on the daily. Today I’m going to talk about God speaking. This is something that I struggle with because let’s be honest here, it’s a little confusing. We hear references to God “talking” in a few different ways in the bible. God obviously talked to us through his son Jesus who was sent to the Earth in the form of a man who had the ability to speak (duh). Sometimes he kind of just talked through burning bushes and stuff but now that Jesus no longer walks the Earth and I don’t know about you but no burning bushes have reached out to me lately, how does God talk to us?
It took me a long time to figure out that God wasn’t going to directly speak to me. Truthfully as a child when I would hear people say that God “spoke” to them, I thought they just heard an audible voice. WRONG. It wasn’t until later on my life that I was thinking I was broken or something because I hadn’t heard God speak to me that I figured out he doesn’t always do that.

I’ve also always heard people say God opens doors and closes them. Which is what really made me figure out that I had heard God speak to me, I just wasn’t listening.

God is in control of all things correct? So in my mind, him “opening and closing doors” is him talking to us.

When I have certain opportunities and decisions in my future thats when I talk to God the most. Constantly praying that he would lead me on the right path and help me make the decision that he sees fit. So when going back and forth about a decision I’m making and one thing looks more achievable or ends up working out better than the other option, in my mind that’s Gods way of telling me which one I should choose.

Let me go ahead and say that this isn’t always exactly what happens and this may be referring to pretty specific scenarios but understanding God speaking to me this way made it easier for me to listen for him to talk to me in other ways as well.

I think everyone can relate to a time they’ve been sitting in church and you feel like the preachers message was written specifically for you, it’s a feeling that can be comparable to reading a fortune that you swear has your name written on it. Once I started listening to God through what was “falling into place” in my life, for lack of better words, I was able to listen to him speak to me through the people he was putting in my life, the things he was allowing to happen in my life, and so on.

It was a whole lot easier to say that God had no intention of talking to me than it was to actually put forth the effort to listen when he was talking to me.

Romans 10:17

So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.

Leave a comment